What I LIKE about losing things.

22 Apr

I lose things. REGULARLY. In an attempt to change my naturally negative perspective on things I am looking at the positives of what is a fairly frustrating experience. Most recently, I lost my iPhone. Here is what I LIKE about losing things.

  • Finding other things in the process

So far in my efforts to find my iPhone I have found: a nice pen which I began writing the first draft of this post with; pretty hair grips, actually they’re my Mam’s hair-grips but ‘finders keepers, losers weepers’, (if someone finds my mobile, I hope they don’t live by the same motto…on second thoughts, maybe I should return the hair-grips…); loose change, I’ve made 63p up so now, doesn’t quite cover the cost of a new iPhone but it’s enough to buy a Mars bar at least; snotty tissues and some hardened orange peel. Okay, so the last two things aren’t so great but it brings me to the next positive outcome regarding losing things.

My friend, Yaz, taught me this word. It's such a great word to describe a mess I think we really ought to be using it more.

My friend, Yaz, taught me this word. It’s such a great word to describe a mess I think we really ought to be using it more.

  • How losing an item can force you into tidying up

“This bloody place is a mess! No wonder I can never find anything!” One might cry. So I’ve lost my cat but at least now all my DVDs are  in alphabetical order! When I’ve lost something I tidy up almost as much as I did at University when I had an essay to write. So if I lose things so often why is my bedroom always a mess? Because it takes two minutes to make my bedroom a mess and two hours to tidy it. I rarely get beyond tidying one shelf, but man is that shelf tidy! 

I'm not as messy as Mister Trebus but with a little dedication, I'm sure I could get there...

I’m not as messy as Edmund Trebus but with a little dedication, I’m sure I could get there…

  • When you don’t even realise you’ve lost something

Probably the best thing about losing something is when you don’t even realise you’ve lost it until much later. There is nothing better than discovering a crumpled up five pound note in the back pocket of your jeans. It rivals the feeling of waking up early on a Saturday, realising you don’t have to get up for work/school, and being able to go back to sleep. Finding that fiver can make your day, it can make your week even, (if you don’t have much going on that week).

This is either a photo depicting Rylan Clark's reaction upon finding a fiver in his back pocket or it was taken just after Nicole Scherzinger put him through to the next round of Xfactor.

This is either a photo depicting Rylan Clark’s reaction upon finding a fiver in his back pocket or it was taken just after Nicole Scherzinger put him through to the next round of Xfactor. Either way he’s chuffed to bits.

I could write a far longer, in depth, post/rant about all the things that annoy me about losing things but positive thoughts generate positive outcomes, (or so I’m told) – Oh hey, there’s my iPhone, it was in my pocket all along…

Leave a Reply

